Published on:

Woman Killed in Chula Vista Hit-and-Run Car Accident


Authorities have identified a homeless woman who was killed in a hit-and-run car accident in Chula Vista the night of December 25, 2010 as 54-year-old Robin O’Quinn Fortson. 10News reports that the car accident happened on Third Avenue when a white Pontiac sedan driven by a man, later identified as 23-year-old Angel Gutierrez, struck Fortson. She was attempting to cross the street when she was hit. Gutierrez fled the scene, but was apprehended shortly afterward in his home, thanks to eyewitness reports. He faces hit-and-run and vehicular manslaughter charges. An investigation is ongoing.

I offer my deepest sympathies to everyone who knew and loved Robin O’Quinn Fortson for their tragic loss. Please keep them in your thoughts and prayers.

Hit-and-Run Car Accident Statistics and Law

According to the California Highway Patrol’s traffic accident statistics, there were 17,158 hit-and-run car accidents that resulted in fatalities or injuries in California in 2008. A majority of these car accidents involved injuries. There were a total of 247 deaths in 2008 involving hit-and-run car accidents statewide. During the same year, 246 fatalities and 13,527 injuries were reported as a result of San Diego County car accidents.

The driver in this case struck and fatally injured a woman and then left her to die on the street. Despicable! I’m relieved to hear that he has been apprehended and commend the eyewitnesses who reported the suspect vehicle’s license plate promptly to police. Hit-and-run is not only an inhumane and irresponsible act, but it is illegal as well.

California Vehicle Code Section 20001 (a) states: “The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of a person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident.”

Protecting Victims’ Rights

It would be in the best interests of the deceased victims’ families in such cases to contact a skilled San Diego personal injury lawyer, who will analyze all aspects of the incident and ensure that the negligent parties are held accountable. A skilled car accident lawyer will also be able to determine if a dangerous roadway condition may have caused the accident. If that was the case, the city or public entity responsible for maintaining that roadway could also be held liable. Any personal injury or wrongful death claim against a governmental entity must be filed within six months, under California Government Code Section 911.2.

Lost a family member in a San Diego County hit-and-run car accident? Want to know your rights? Want to know what your case is worth? Want compensation? Want justice? Want to ensure the same thing doesn’t happen to another family?

Call your best friends in the legal industry after a fatal Chula Vista pedestrian accident. Call 800-259-6373. The call is free. The advice may be priceless.

Call a Bisnar Chase Personal Injury Attorneys San Diego wrongful death lawyer for a free professional evaluation of your rights by attorneys who have been representing families of deceased accident victims since 1978. You will experience award winning representation and outstanding personal service by a compassionate and understanding law firm in a comfortable environment.

Published on:

Comments are closed.

Contact Information